Description of NCPHA Awards

The nomination deadline for all the below major awards has been extended until November 30, 2021.  Awards will be given on Thursday, April 28 at the re-scheduled Fall Educational Conference at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Asheville. 

Reynolds Achievement Award:

The Reynolds Achievement Award is bestowed upon the individual member of NCPHA who has made the greatest contribution to public health in North Carolina during the past year.  Winner is awarded $500.  Sponsored by the NC Medical Society.  


Rankin  Legacy Award:

The Watson S. Rankin Award is given to a NCPHA member in recognition of the outstanding contributions to public health in North Carolina over the member's lifetime.  Winner is awarded $1000.

Distinguished Service Award:

This award is given to a NCPHA member for their service to NCPHA.  Nominated by the NCPHA Executive Committee.  Winner is awarded $250.


Partners in Public Health Award:

This award was established in 1998 to recognize other organizations and professions outside public health departments who have made significant contributions to public health in North Carolina over the past year.   Winner is awarded an organizational membership to NCPHA.  

Dr. Sarah Taylor Morrow Health Departments of the Year:

This award is given to health departments for outstanding programs and efforts.  Awarded to two health departments based on the population size in the county.  Health department must be an organizational member of NCPHA.  Winners are awarded $1000.  Click on the below link for county populations.  

To download nomination form for all of the above awards, click here.

North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Child Health Recognition Awards:

The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation supports the Child Health Recognition Awards program, which recognizes public health workers and programs that improve the health status of children. The program honors North Carolina public health professionals and departments for innovative, creative and successful approaches to improving the lives of our younger generations. Awards are presented at the North Carolina Public Health Association’s annual meeting. For the 2021 form and more information click here:  NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Award.

The Dr. Ann F. Wolfe Endowment Mini-Grants

The Dr. Ann F. Wolfe Endowment was established in October of 2003 through the estate of the late Dr. Ann Wolfe. The endowment was established as a component fund of the North Carolina Community Foundation. The purpose of the fund, as stated in the establishing agreement, is to combat infant mortality and enhance child health. This purpose is to be accomplished through mini-grants to local health departments to aid their work in these endeavors. Click here to download the 2021 Dr. Ann Wolfe Mini-Grant Application. Nominations are due by July 12, 2021.

The Senator William R. Purcell Award

The Senator William R. Purcell Award is designed to honor an individual or group who has demonstrated exceptional health policy at any level of government or in the private sector. The award honors the legacy of caring and diligence of Senator Purcell and the winner should exemplify that legacy. The winner will be recognized at the Spring Educational Conference. Click here for the nomination form. 

All-Star Awards

Each public health agency is being asked to look through their ranks and identify that special, spirited someone that epitomizes “Public Health.” All professions and positions are open for nomination to the All-Stars Team!  Below is the link to the online nomination form.  Please write at least a 100-word document which focuses on three qualities your employee uses to be a Public Health All-Star.  Please do not use the nominees name in the narrative.  All nominees must be a member of NCPHA.  You will upload the document in the online form.  Submissions are due by  November 30, 2021  Winners will be awarded $25 plus an All Star award. 

Click here to see the past winners of Ann Wolfe Mini-Grants, NCPHA Major Awards, Scholarships, All-Star Awards and NC GSK Foundation Child Health Recognition Awards.

Email: [email protected]