Description of NCPHA Awards -  

All award nominations are due by Friday, July 14, 2023.

Reynolds Achievement Award:

The Reynolds Achievement Award is bestowed upon the individual member of NCPHA who has made the greatest contribution to public health in North Carolina during the past year.  Winner is awarded $500.  Sponsored by the NC Medical Society.  


Rankin  Legacy Award:

The Watson S. Rankin Award is given to a NCPHA member in recognition of the outstanding contributions to public health in North Carolina over the member's lifetime.  Winner is awarded $1000.

Distinguished Service Award:

This award is given to a NCPHA member for their service to NCPHA.  Nominated by the NCPHA Executive Committee.  Winner is awarded $250.


Partners in Public Health Award:

This award was established in 1998 to recognize other organizations and professions outside public health departments who have made significant contributions to public health in North Carolina over the past year.   Winner is awarded an organizational membership to NCPHA.  

Dr. Sarah Taylor Morrow Health Departments of the Year:

This award is given to health departments for outstanding programs and efforts.  Awarded to two health departments.  Health department must be an organizational member of NCPHA.  Winners are awarded $1000.    

To download nomination form for all of the above awards, click here.  Please note that all nominations should not exceed 500 words.  

North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Child Health Recognition Awards:

The North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation supports the Child Health Recognition Awards program, which recognizes public health workers and programs that improve the health status of children. The program honors North Carolina public health professionals and departments for innovative, creative and successful approaches to improving the lives of our younger generations. Awards are presented at the North Carolina Public Health Association’s annual meeting. For the 2022 form and more information click here:  NC GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Award.

The Dr. Ann F. Wolfe Endowment Mini-Grants

The Dr. Ann F. Wolfe Endowment was established in October of 2003 through the estate of the late Dr. Ann Wolfe. The endowment was established as a component fund of the North Carolina Community Foundation. The purpose of the fund, as stated in the establishing agreement, is to combat infant mortality and enhance child health. This purpose is to be accomplished through mini-grants to local health departments to aid their work in these endeavors. Click here to download the 2023 Dr. Ann Wolfe Mini-Grant Application. Nominations are due by July 14, 2023.


Click here to see the past winners of Ann Wolfe Mini-Grants, NCPHA Major Awards, Scholarships, All-Star Awards and NC GSK Foundation Child Health Recognition Awards.

Email: [email protected]