Public Health Leadership Section

"A leader's role is to raise people's aspirations for what they can become and to release their energies so they will try to get there."
-David Gergen

How To Join

Any member of NCPHA is eligible to join the Public Health Leadership Section. Section dues are $5.00 per year and can be paid when you join/renew membership in NCPHA.


The purpose of the Public Health Leadership Section is to cultivate leadership skills and foster future Public Health leaders.


The officers would like to welcome you to the Leadership section. We encourage all NCPHA members who are interested in leadership to join. We have already started to consider our priorities for the coming year. We have begun to explore ways that we can continue a North Carolina version of the leadership development program, SEPHLI. We are also developing an orientation program for new Local Health Directors.

The officers look forward to working with you this year.

Section Leadership 2023-2024


Anna Martin
Health Director
Caldwell County Health Department

Vice Chair:
Courtney Moore
North Carolina Agromedicine Institute

Suzanne Wright
Health Director
Davie County Health Department

Fall Educational Conference Planning Committee Representative:
Sarah Banks
Health Director
Haywood County Health and Human Services Agency

Public Awareness Committee Representative:
Pamela Brown
Health Director
Lenoir County Health Department

Advocacy Committee Representative:
Danny Scalise
Health Director
Burke County Health Department


PHL Section By Laws

PHL Section Manual of Procedures